Kontaktieren Sie uns:
+49 211 17 17 256 |

Nobel Prize in Economics 2023: An Unusually Usual Laureate

The Economics Class of 2023 Fits Right In

The 2023 Nobel Prize in Economics (also known as the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel) has been awarded to Claudia Goldin of Harvard University, Cambridge, USA. This is unusual in two respects:

  1. She is the sole laureate, which was last the case in 2017 and happened only four times since the turn of the century. Last year’s prize was shared by three winners.
  2. She is female, which has averaged less than 3% of the prize winners since the prize was established in 1969.

In terms of other statistics, such as age, country and university affiliation, she ticks the usual boxes:

  • 100% female (Ø 1969-2022 3%)
  • 77 years old (Ø 67)
  • 100% US (Ø 82%)
  • 100% Harvard (Ø 8%)